Press Room

« Press Room Home

HFL and Hospital Auxiliary Award $32,750 in Scholarships to La Porte Students

June 28, 2017 | Grants

The Healthcare Foundation of La Porte (HFL) and La Porte Hospital Auxiliary awarded 28 students with scholarships totaling $32,750 at a scholarship reception on June 27, 2017. HFL and the Auxiliary take great pride in offering scholarship awards to students in the La Porte community, a tradition started in 1983. These scholarships provide financial assistance to students pursuing careers in health science occupations.

HFL and Auxiliary Scholarship Recipients

HFL appreciates the time and effort of their scholarship committee members Katrina Langford, Jane Nelson and Linda Satkoski. HFL scholarships are funded through scholarship endowments and generous contributions from the Richard M. Sisson family, Elizabeth and Eugene Siefker family and Radiology, Inc. HFL awarded the following students scholarships in 2017:


  • Christine Ake, Biology, Indiana University
  • Addison Boardman, Audiology, Northwestern University
  • Lisa Fischer, Pharmacy, Butler University
  • Whitney Hart, Doctor of Medicine, Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Anthony Kim, Pre-Med with Physical Therapy Focus, Purdue University Northwest

RADIOLOGY, INC SCHOLARSHIP – Kasia Maddox, Radiography, Indiana University South Bend

MAGNUSON AWARD – Hillary Havlin, Nursing, Valparaiso University

RICHARD M. SISSON SCHOLARSHIP – Izabela Mazur, Doctor of Pharmacy, Purdue University

WALTER HRANKJA SCHOLARSHIP – Virginia Ramos-Romero, Nursing, Purdue University Northwest

ELIZABETH & EUGENE SIEFKER SCHOLARSHIP – Kyleigh Werner, Nursing, Purdue University Northwest

HFL Scholarship Recipients

The La Porte Hospital Auxiliary appreciates the time and effort of their scholarship committee members Bob Burns (committee chair), Suzanne Burns, Becky Jensen and Judy Wright. Auxiliary scholarships are funded through sales generated at the Auxiliary’s Wishing Well Gift Shop located in La Porte Hospital. The following students received Auxiliary scholarships in 2017:


  • Jailah Blakely, Nursing, University of Indianapolis
  • Skylar Brinkman, Biology, Loyola University
  • Ashley Campos, Nursing, Indiana State University
  • Emily Dick, Athletic Training, Purdue University
  • Kristen Gushrowski, Exercise Science, University of Indianapolis
  • Megan Gushrowski, Pharmacy, Manchester University
  • Karmen Halfacre, Biology, Ball State University
  • Jennifer Justice, Psychology, Purdue University
  • Jacob Kasarda, Nursing, Indiana University South Bend
  • Carter Moldenhauer, Nursing, Purdue University Northwest
  • Natalie Riley, Pharmacy, Butler University
  • Skylar Senseny, Nursing, Marquette University
  • Nicholas Willoughby, Biology, University of Chicago


  • Lauren McQuarters, Psychology, Butler University
  • Abigail Vaughn, Exercise Science, University of Indianapolis
  • Ashley Yuan, Nursing, Ferris State University

HAROLD AND MARCY BOWEN SCHOLARSHIPJulissa Campos Haro, Nursing, Valparaiso University

FRIEND OF THE AUXILIARY SCHOLARSHIPNorma Kasinger, Social Work, Indiana Wesleyan

Auxiliary Scholarship Recipients

Scholarships will be available again next spring for students pursuing careers in health and wellness fields who are enrolled at an accredited university, college or similar higher learning institute. Visit the HFL website to learn more at Go to our Facebook Page – Healthcare Foundation of La Porte – to see pictures and bios for all scholarship recipients.